Thy Will – Hillary Scott

This song plays loudly every time I hear it.

Thy Will – Hillary Scott and Family

When I first heard it a month ago it put me in tears, thinking of how our heart break six months ago was part of God’s Plan. There’s nothing we could do but say, Thy Will, knowing that His Plan is the best, even when it doesn’t feel like it at the time, even when we don’t understand it.

It didn’t take long for me to start seeing how His plan was playing out. How we were being blessed through loss. And how we could bless others through our own storm.

Hillary Scott wrote the song after her own miscarriage. “It was my honest conversation with God about, why do bad things happen? But, ultimately, I trust Your will for my life and that it’s all going to be okay.” Read More: Story Behind the Song: Hillary Scott and the Scott Family, ‘Thy Will’ | http://theboot.com/hillary-scott-and-the-scott-family-thy-will-lyrics/?trackback=tsmclip

I love the relationships that have formed through loss. How I have been able to bond closely with friends, new and old, through the common heartache. Our stories are all different, but loss is loss is loss. It can be so hard to talk about it, but I have cherished the conversations with others who have allowed me to open my heart, and who have opened their hearts to me.

Yesterday I found out some devastating news about a friend. A friend who has already experienced so much loss. My heart aches for her. There is nothing I can say or do that will make it all better. All I can do is pray and be a friend in her time of need.

And sing this song over and over again. It will be ok, because God is in control.

I’m so confused
I know I heard you loud and clear
So, I followed through
Somehow I ended up here
I don’t wanna think
I may never understand
That my broken heart is a part of your plan
When I try to pray
All I’ve got is hurt and these four words
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
I know you’re good
But this don’t feel good right now
And I know you think
Of things I could never think about
It’s hard to count it all joy
Distracted by the noise
Just trying to make sense
Of all your promises
Sometimes I gotta stop
Remember that you’re God
And I am not
So
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will
I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord

Your plans are for me
Goodness you have in store
I know you hear me
I know you see me, Lord
Your plans are for me
Good news you have in store

So, thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord

Written by Bernie Herms, Hillary Scott, Emily Lynn Weisband • Copyright © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc, Universal Music Publishing Group

Save

Leave a Reply

