Chicken Soup

We’ve had a cold in our house for a month, off and on. It started with Little Miss, then moved on to Little Monster and me, and finally to the Hubby. Even Little Man caught it at just a week old. We had soup on the menu a week before his birth, with plans for an easy dinner of canned soup, but when Little Miss was feeling so rough I decided I needed to feed her the good stuff. I made extra and canned it to have a super easy, delicious, healing meal after Baby Skywalker arrived. It was so nice to open up some homemade goodness in a can just days after the birth.

img_20161127_101959230-2

2 Tbsp olive oil
5 chicken thighs, salt and peppered
5 carrots, peeled and thinly sliced
3 celery stalks, thinly sliced
1/2 medium sweet onion, thinly chopped
3 cups rabbit (or chicken) broth
6 cups water
handful of thyme and oregano
salt and pepper, to taste

 

Pour olive oil in a stock pot. Brown chicken. Once browned, add all the other ingredients.

img_20161127_102820331-3

Bring everything to a boil. Reduce to simmer. Cook on low, covered, for 3-4 hours. Halfway through, remove chicken from the pot. Use a fork to separate meat from the bone. Remove skins if you can find them. Put meat back in the pot. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve with saltine crackers or prepare for canning.

Tip: If using thyme and oregano from the garden, keep stems on and put in a small bowl of water. Gently move herbs around in the water, then let sit for a few minutes. Dirt will fall to the bottom. I tied butcher’s twine around them before adding them to the stock pot so I didn’t end up with stems in my soup.Once the soup is done just take the handful of herbs out of the pot.

img_20161127_105333735-2

Note: If you want a lower-fat version, remove the skins from chicken before browning. Since I plan to eat this when sick or in recovery mode, I leave the extra calories on, since I need the extra calories when my body is in healing mode.

5 thoughts on “Chicken Soup

  1. I can’t wait to be able to do things like can soup! We are hoping to get a pressure canner sometime this coming year, before the harvest begins rolling in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love having my pressure canner! It is pretty huge and cumbersome though. Instill feel intimidated because I don’t know what I’m doing. But you never learn anything new by not trying, right? Just canned some sweet potatoes last week. I’ll have to open a jar soon and see how they are after canning.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Canning anything at first is terrifying. I’m still gaining confidence 🙂 What brand and size do you have? I’m figuring we’ll get the biggest one since we have a large family and plan on growing a LOT of food…you’ll have to write about how that experience with the sweet potatoes went and finishes!

        Like

Leave a Reply

